2016 Tator-Turnbull Symposium Announced

The Annual Tator-Turnbull Symposium features some of the best and most promising researchers from around the world in the field of spinal cord injury. The 2016 Tator-Turnbull event will be the 15th since its inception.

This year we are pleased to announce Prof. Claes Hultling as our keynote speaker.

250px-Claes_Hultling_2010_0035 Claes Hultling, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Neurobiology – Care Sciences and Society
Karolinska Institute
Focus: Medical Care and Rehabilitation for Spinal Cord Injury

Professor Hultling broke his neck in 1984. Since then, he has been fighting to improve quality of life for spinal cord injury patients through the Spinalis Foundation. The title of his presentation is “A New Front for Injured Backs”.

The 2016 Tator-Turnbull Symposium will take place Friday, November 18th, 12:30-5:45 pm. The event will be held at the Krembil Discovery Tower, Toronto Western Hospital, BMO Education & Conference Centre, 60 Leonard Ave. Toronto, ON M5T 2S8.

The program for this event is now available
15th Annual Tator-Turnbull Symposium 2016 Program

A flyer is also available for distribution
Tator-Turnbull Lectureship Flyer

The Tator-Turnbull symposium is named after Toronto Neurosurgeon Dr. Charles Tator and Barbara Turnbull. Barbara Turnbull was tragically paralyzed at age 18. Despite her terrible injury, she went on to become a journalist for the Toronto Star, using this position to champion causes such as organ donation and funding for scientific research. Ms Turnbull passed away in May of 2015, but her legacy as an advocate for medical progress survives through the Barbara Turnbull Foundation and the annual Tator-Turnbull Symposium.

Previous Speakers include:
2015 – Dr. Jan Schwab, OSU – Wexner Medical Center
2014 – Dr. Ole Kiehn, Karolinska Institute
2013 – Drs. Derek van der Kooy, Cindi Morshead, and Andras Nagy, University of Toronto
2012 – Dr. Susan Harkema, University of Louisville
2011 – Dr. Armin Curt, University of Zurich
2010 – Dr. V. Reggie Edgerton, Brain Research Institute, UCLA
2009 Dr. James Fawcett, Cambridge University Centre for Brain Repair, United Kingdom
2008 Dr. Jerry Silver, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH
2007 Dr. Serge Rossignol, University of Montreal
2006 Dr. Arthur Prochazka, University of Alberta
2005 Dr. John Steeves, International Collaboration On Repair Discoveries (ICORD), Vancouver, BC
2004 Prof. Eva Sykova, Institute of Experimental Medicine, Prague, Czech Republic
2003 Dr. Lars Olson, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
2002 Mr. Rick Hansen, Rick Hansen Institute, Vancouver, BC